Maiastra Evening Concert - String Quartet - Haydn, Korngold and Beethoven

Haydn           String Quartet in D major, Opus 17, No. 6
Korngold       String Quartet No. 2 in E flat major, Opus 26
Beethoven    String Quartet in C major Opus 59 No. 3

Director:        Florence Cooke

Maiastra's epic project to perform all sixteen Beethoven string quartets in the order in which they were written has now reached Opus 59 No. 3, the third and last of the quartets commissioned by Count Razumovsky.  It acquired the nickname 'Eroica' because of its glorious triumphant finale and is one of the most radiant works Beethoven ever composed.  Written in 1771, thirty-five years earlier than the Beethoven, Haydn's Opus 17 quartets were composed while he was employed as Kapellmeister for Prince Esterhazy and mark his emergence as an indisputably great composer.  Korngold's second string quartet was written in 1933 just before the composer moved from Austria to Hollywood and is full of musical imagery of Vienna.  All three of his string quartets can be seen as modern tone poems imbued with beautiful melancholy and Viennese charm.

Saturday 23 July 2022 - 7.30pm
Admission free (with a retiring collection), but please reserve a seat here, as capacity is limited.
Ashtead Cricket Club
Woodfield Lane,
Ashtead, Surrey
Ashtead, Surrey,
KT21 2BJ