Handel - Chilcott - Glazunov

12 December 2015  7.30 pm
Handel My heart is inditing, Zadok the Priest*
Chilcott Wenceslas
Glazunov The Seasons
Pachelbel (arr. Halsey) Canon*
Soloists: Tabitha Reynolds ( mezzo soprano )
              Hugo Popplewell ( baritone )
*Slough Philharmonic Orchestra and Chorus will be joined in Zadok the Priest by string players from Langley Hall Primary Academy, who will also perform an arrangement of Pachelbel's Canon
Bob Chilcott's latest choral work Wenceslas received its first performance in December 2014. We are joined by two up-and-coming young soloists representing the King and the Page. Using new words by Charles Bennett, the familiar story is set to a colourful array of styles through which the verses of the well-known carol weave their way.

In 1727 Handel was invited to write four Coronation anthems for the coronation of George II in what was quite a coup for the recently naturalised German-born composer. Zadok the Priest, which needs little introduction, was so successful that it has been performed at every British coronation since 1727, whilst My heart is inditing was the last of the anthems.

We conclude this concert with an orchestral work: Glazunov's scintillating ballet score The Seasons. Its fifteen short sections bring each of the seasons vividly to life, especially Winter with its frost, ice, hail and snow.
Tickets £15 and  £12.50,  £10 under 16s/students
           Special offer Family ticket £16 (admits one adult plus one child) 
The Centre, Farnham Road, Slough  SL1 4UT

(Back to Slough Philharmonic website)
The Centre Conference Venue
The Centre, Farnham Road