Mozart Requiem May 2017

Saturday 13 May 2017
St. Bernard’s, Langley  7:30pm
Mozart                              Requiem Mass
Vaughan Williams            Serenade to Music
Tchaikovsky                     Sleeping Beauty suite
  Soloists: Elisabeth Toye (soprano), Jennifer Westwood (contralto), James Butler (tenor) Jonathan Wood (bass)

Mozart's Requiem is filled with suffering, anger and quiet beauty, written by a man still young knowing he is near his own death. It is a dark work in parts, containing some of the composer's most powerful music.  The mysterious circumstances of the Requiem's commission, and fact that it was left incomplete by a dying Mozart, have ensured a continuing fascination with this, his last composition.

Originally written for sixteen soloists, we perform the Serenade to Music in the version for four soloists, chorus and orchestra. The text, taken from Shakespeare's The Merchant of Venice is one of the most beautiful short choral works ever written in the English language.  

Sleeping Beauty is Tchaikovsky's finest ballet score.  The soaring melodies of threee of the movements are interrupted by a delightful portrayal of a pair of cats before the suite ends with another of the composer's most memorable, lilting waltzes.

Tickets £15 and  £12.50,  £10 under 16s/students
St Bernard's Catholic Grammar School​, 1 Langley Road, Slough SL3 7AF

(Back to Slough Philharmonic website)
St Bernard's Catholic Grammar School
1 Langley Rd