Tchaikovsky - Bruckner, March 2019

Saturday 9 March 2019, 7.30 pm
Centenary Hall, Caldicott

Tchaikovsky   Piano Concerto No.1 Op.23
Bruckner        Symphony No. 6

Slough Philharmonic Orchestra
Daniel Lebhardt (piano)

From the magnificent opening melody, Tchaikovsky skilfully pitches this dramatic confrontation between heroic soloist and eloquent orchestra.  It is a grandiose gesture that announces the entry into a virtuoso concerto of handsome proportions and tuneful content. The exquisite slow movement, that includes a glittering scherzo, leads to a finale based on a vigorous Russian dance melody. To play it we welcome the brilliant young Hungarian pianist Daniel Lebhardt, who has won numerous international piano competitions. He has recently given a recital at the Louvre in Paris and at Wigmore Hall, performed concertos in the USA and Russia, with tours of China, Colombia, and Chile as well as the UK.  

Bruckner’s symphonies have been called ‘cathedrals in sound.’  The rich and individual 6th Symphony is the loveliest of them all; a sweeping Austrian landscape glowing with tenderness and deep feeling.  Its centre piece is a majestic and deeply profound slow movement, music of the utmost nobility of spirit.  The composer himself thought it his boldest work.
Tickets £15,  £10 under 16s/students
Centenary Hall, Caldicott, Crown Lane, Farnham Royal, Slough  SL2 3SL
Centenary Hall
Crown Lane
Farnham Royal