The Brompton Quartet: Elgar & Vaughan Williams

Friday 13 September, 5-6pm
A delightful programme of British chamber music from the talented Brompton Quartet. Elgar completed only one string quartet in his life, part of a ‘late flowering’ in the years 1918-19 (a period which also included his famous Cello Concerto). His Quartet in E Minor is a work of exquisite melancholy. Alongside is Vaughan Williams’ String Quartet No.1 in G minor, composed in 1936 following a period of study with Ravel in Paris. While imbued with Vaughan Williams’ characteristic earthiness, the piece carries more than a trace of French sensuality.
Tickets: £12.50
The Red House
Golf Lane
IP15 5PZ