Maiastra - Two 20th Century Piano Quintets

Two 20th century piano quintets composed only twenty-two years apart but portraying quite different worlds. in the Shostakovich, composed in 1940, we can hear the dark shadows lurking in the background, hardly surprising given that Western Europe was already at war and the USSR was soon to be invaded by Nazi Germany, whereas the Elgar, written in 1918, is redolent of the natural beauty of the English countryside.

• Shostakovich - Piano Quintet in G minor, Op. 57
• Elgar - piano Quintet in A minor, Op. 84

To find out more about Maiastra and the young musicians who will be performing tonight, please visit

Friday 17 January 7.30pm
FREE ADMISSION (retiring collection)
Riverhouse Barn
Manor Road
KT12 2PF